CambridgeSchool -Curriculum

Cambridge International Programme

The Cambridge International Programme consists of the following stages:

Cambridge International Primary Programme (CIPP Years 1-6)
At this stage, young children are developing rapidly and the Primary Stage curriculum helps to maximise on this potential. Children vary greatly in their maturity in different areas of development and their individual learning needs are carefully planned and considered. The Primary Programme provided by Cambridge International Examination (CIE) provides learning objectives for each year of the primary education.
  • The Cambridge International Primary Programme develops and enhances English, Science and Mathematical skills in young children across the world.
  • French and IT are implemented according to an international curriculum designed by professional teachers.
  • Arabic, Religion and National Studies are taught according to the Egyptian Ministry of Education objectives.
Our staff organises numerous educational visits and trips to support the children's work. We also have our own specialised science laboratory which is used primarily by Key Stage 2 children, while the younger members of the school undertake their scientific investigations in their classrooms and school environs!
In the final year of primary education, Year 6, students take the Cambridge International Primary Achievement Test. All students completing the tests will be awarded a Primary Certificate of Achievement by the University of Cambridge International Examinations board.

Cambridge Checkpoint (Year 7 & 8)
The curriculum at this level is designed to provide a balanced education in academic and creative subjects as well as physical education. It is aimed at developing a student's potential by encouraging independent thinking, curiosity, enthusiasm and respect for hard work. The curriculum is also designed to train students to work independently and as a group.

The Checkpoint Stage consists of Years 7 and 8, equivalent to Middle 1 and 2 in the National system.

Checkpoint tests are provided by the University of Cambridge International Examinations in Year 2008.   All tests are valued and accepted all over the world for their remarkable assessment standards. They take into consideration multicultural environments.
Report information
Each student will receive a Statement of Achievement and a detailed report about his/her performance. The feedback reports are dispatched to the school within four weeks of the completed scripts being received in Cambridge.

The report provides information on students' areas of strength and weakness. This means that the future teaching of those students may be effectively focused so that the strengths can be consolidated and the areas of weakness can be tackled.

The feedback may also be used to help teachers to review their teaching of the curriculum to determine which teaching approaches have been most effective and to modify or improve in the future.

Pre-IGCSE (Year 9)

 In the Pre-IGCSE stage the curriculum is largely geared to the syllabus requirements of the IGCSE examinations. The school is fully equipped with the latest resources, ICT systems and facilities to support outstanding examination success.  It allows the student to study 5 main subjects, English, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology, at the core level. The certificate at the end of this stage is awarded by the Cambridge University Examination Board where the highest grade is C and the lowest is G.

The Pre-IGCSE stage is recognised by the Egyptian Ministry of Education as equivalent to Addadeya. Students also study, in addition to the 5 main subjects mentioned above, National Studies, Arabic & Religion according to the objectives of the Egyptian Ministry of Education. IT & French are given as extra subjects according to a tailored curriculum based on international education.

ion. IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education)
The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a curriculum and assessment system, highly respected and recognised by schools and colleges around the world. The IGCSE programme from CIE brings out the best in students and develops successful learners through a skills-based approach including teaching and assessing. Students who attain IGCSE qualifications are well educated, adaptable and thoroughly prepared for their next steps in education and employment, including progression to AS and A Level studies.

Abiding by the rule enforced by the Ministry of Education, all candidates must complete three academic years in the programme. Candidates are allowed to sit for five exam sessions throughout this period
Courses offered in the IGCSE programme:
  1. OL: Ordinary level
  2. AS: Advanced Subsidiary level
  3. A2: Advanced level
    N.B. (AS+A2) is called AL (Advanced level)
1st Year
June Session
Compulsory subjects:
  • English as a second language
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Physics (for students completing pre-IGCSE )
Students are called in to consult the academic advisor to choose the subjects that would qualify him/her for the desired faculty after the 1st academic year in the programme.
2nd and 3rd Year
Subjects offered through years 11 and 12   (June sessions, November sessions):
  • English as a second language
  • Physics (AS, A2 )
  • Accounting, Business, Economics (OL, AS, A2)
  • IT (AS, A2)
  • French
  • Arabic
  • Biology (AS, A2)
  • Mathematics (AS, A2)
  • Chemistry (AS, A2)
Subjects will be offered according to students’ preferences.